Abu Dhabi Acad

10 March 2015 - The Philippines assumed chairmanship of the ASEAN Committee in Abu Dhabi (ACAD) on March 01 following a simple turnover ceremony at the Flavors Restaurant in Abu Dhabi.

ACAD is composed of six ASEAN member states, namely Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand, and Singapore who currently have diplomatic missions in Abu Dhabi.

During the meeting, Philippine Embassy in Abu Dhabi Chargé d’affaires Maria Roseny B. Fangco thanked Malaysia for its previous chairmanship of ACAD and conveyed the Philippines’ honor and pleasure in accepting the Chairmanship of the Committee. She shared the initial plans of the Philippine Embassy to make ACAD more visible among the United Arab Emirates’ (UAE) leadership and agencies.

Other members of ACAD exchanged views on how ASEAN could maximize its overall relations with the UAE and how to strengthen ASEAN- GCC relations. The group also discussed possible activities under the chairmanship of the Philippines.  END