DFA-Citizens-Charter-Banner 1

DFA Releases

  13 May 2016 - APEC Senior Officials are scheduled to meet at the 2nd Senior Officials’ Meeting (SOM2), to be held from May 14 to15 in Arequipa, Peru, picking up where they left off in their last...
More inDFA Releases  

News from PHL Embassies, Consulates & Missions

  25 May 2016 - The LSE Consortium on Migration and Development and the Ateneo School of Government (ASoG) launched the 38th LSE Program in Singapore on Sunday, May 22 at the Philippine Bayanihan...

Seoul Filipino scholars

27 February 2014 – Fifteen Filipino graduate students at advance degree programs in Korea were awarded scholarships for the Spring 2014 semester by the Woojung Education and Cultural Foundation (WECF) on 20 February 2014 at the Korea Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

“I believe that in the future you will become the leaders of your home countries in your own fields of specialization and make your nations be ranked as one of the developed countries,” Han Seung-Soo, former ROK Prime Minister and President of the General Assembly of the United Nations, told the students in his address. “Your dedication and patriotism are important keys because your countries are already rich in natural resources.”

WECF Chairman Dr. Joong- Keun Lee emphasized in his welcome address the Foundation’s advocacy in expanding educational opportunities across the different regions to frame the global leaders of the 21st century.

Iric Arribas, Chargé d’ Affaires of the Philippine Embassy in Korea, along with the ambassadors from other countries who are based in Seoul and the WECF Board of Directors attended the awarding ceremony.

The Woojung Foundation Scholarship, which is worth 4M won (US$3,700) for the spring semester, is very competitive. Evaluated every semester, the recipients (10 of whom are currently in sciences or engineering programs) have to fulfill a number of requirements to be able to justify their retention. Fourteen are continuing recipients; Monica Dulos (MA in International Relations at Sogang University) was the lone new grantee.

Of the 15 students, eight are in PhD programs: Valerie Diane Valeriano and Edward Alain Pajarillo (Animal Resource Science, Dankook Univesity), Joseph Dela Cruz (Agriculture, Hankyong National University), Choco Michael Gorospe (Molecular Biomedicine, Inha University), Judee Grace Nemeno (Biomedical Science and Technology, Konkuk University), Jocelyn B. Barbosa (Computer Science and Engineering, Korea University), John Marc Puguan (Energy Science, Myoungji University), and Eva Marie Wang (Global Education and Cooperation, Seoul National University).

Apart from Ms. Dulos, the remaining recipients are enrolled in Masters programs:Ronel Laranjo (Practical Applied Linguistics) and Kristine Joy Mallari (Environmental Technology and Policy) at Korea University, Nikita Mercado (Public Policy, Korean Development Institute), Imee Necessito (Water Resources Engineering) and Alyssa Marie Fulgarenas (Chemical Engineering) at Kongju National University, and Albert Surla (Structural Engineering, Sangmyung University).

Although the WECF was established in 2008, Filipino students have been awarded scholarships only from February 2013. The other recipient countries are Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Sri Lanka, Timor Leste, Fiji, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Kenya, and Ghana.  END

Contact DFA at:

834 3000

834 4000

@dfaspokesperson DFA SPOKESPERSON

For Passport & Consular related inquiries
      Contact :

556 0000
8:00AM TO 5:00PM

email DFA [email protected]




article thumbnail29 April 2016 – The Department of Foreign Affairs advises the public that the Ecuadorian Government has opened the international fund: TERREMOTO ECUADOR or EARTHQUAKE EQUADOR, for private...
More inPublic Advisory  




Back to Top