Public Advisory: On the Travel Restrictions to South Africa

19 March 2020 - The Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) informs the Filipino public that all travelers who have entered South Africa from high-risk countries (China, France, Germany, Iran Italy, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, and United States) since 15 February 2020 will be required to present themselves for testing, while travelers from medium-risk countries as identified by the South African Department of Health will be required to undergo high intensity screening.

All entry of foreign travelers with ordinary passports, regardless of compliance with visa requirements, traveling from or transiting through high-risk countries, is prohibited until further notice. Visas already issued are revoked with immediate effect. 

Likewise, visa waiver agreements with countries identified by the South African Department of Health as high- and medium-risk will be temporarily suspended.

Any foreign national affected by the said travel restrictions who needs to travel to South Africa for emergency or compelling reasons may contact the nearest South African Embassy or Consulate.

The above restrictions do not apply to holders of diplomatic, official, and service passports issued by international organizations as well as their family members accredited to South Africa, crew members of aircraft and cargo ships, as well as cross-border rail and road transportation workers. However, such travelers will be subjected to medical screening and if required, can be isolated or quarantined for a minimum of 14 days.

The DFA advises the Filipino public to remain vigilant and accurately informed as countries impose and/or adjust travel restrictions that may suddenly affect Filipino travellers. END