Public Advisory: DFA Advises Foreign and Filipino Travelers to Reconsider New Year Trip to PH Amid New Entry Rules

30 December 2020 – In the wake of a Malacañang announcement on 29 December of the extension until 15 January 2021 of a temporary entry ban on flights and foreign passengers coming from the UK and 19 other countries and jurisdictions that have reported incidence of the new coronavirus strain, the DFA has strongly advised foreign nationals and Filipino citizens intending to come to the Philippines to reconsider their travel plans for a later date.

During the period 30 December 2020 to 15 January 2021, all foreign nationals, regardless of previous Philippine visas and exemptions granted, who will be flying from or been to the following countries and jurisdictions within 14 days of arrival in the Philippines-- Australia, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong SAR, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, the Netherlands, Singapore, Switzerland, Sweden, South Korea, South Africa, Spain, and the United Kingdom –will not be permitted to enter Philippine territory. Filipino citizens who come from these areas can still enter the Philippines but will be required to complete strictly the 14-day quarantine requirement at a government facility even if RT-PCR tests show negative results.

The DFA encourages those intending to travel to the Philippines to check with the nearest Philippine embassy or consulate and regularly consult the website and social media sites of the Philippine Bureau of Immigration for the latest information. END